Tags

, , ,

Tony Horton, I love you and I hate you…..

At the start of the year, I read in a women’s fashion magazine about this thing called P90X. Over here in Australia, we are not bombarded with P90X advertising day and night – in fact I had never heard about it! I was intrigued…. the magazine promised this program would transform your body… So we got P90X and started working out. The magazine I read about this in usually publishes rather flimsy exercises, and naturally, I was a bit skeptical about the hype of P90X. Till I tried it!

IT IS INTENSE!

Aaaah Tony, you drive me mad with your silly quotes, and I hate myself a little bit for knowing exactly what you are going to say next.

Its a special kind of love Source

But, I do love you Tony, as you have pushed me to my limits and made me stronger. When I first started doing this, I had never done a push up on my toes in my life! Appalling, I know, but never, ever, ever on my toes. Just those ones where you are on your knees, really just moving my upper body up and down. Lets face it, what I am saying here is not even stretched out on my knees 🙂

By the end of a few months, I was on my toes, not for all of them but for 5-10 at a time. A few times a session. Those of you who do P090X will know there are TONS of push up sessions in each workout. I have transformed my triceps. They are almost visible now, not to mention, so much stronger! It really does what it says it will do 🙂

Now the way I look at it, there is no use trimming fat off the body if the underlying muscle is poorly worked and lacking definition/strength. All that will happen is you will look skinny. I want to look and feel (I guess BE is the word here!) toned and fit. Its also a well known fact that better muscle definition aids in weight loss, protects bones and makes you look HOT!

I took a break from it for a few weeks as I hurt my shoulder. This little injury was more annoying than anything else, as I am pretty sure I just pinched a nerve in my shoulder. But I was out as far as P90X was concerned. You all know I kept running. After all, it is my new favourite – that 5km is just around the corner….

Today I did “Chest and Back” “The mother of all workouts” as Tony says. OUCH! Pushups and Pulldowns. OUCH! Even husband was hurting and he did not take a few weeks off when I did!

Its nuts how fast I lost strength from taking those few weeks off! So its back to Tony. Back to P90X. Back to basics. OOOOOUUUUUUUUUCCCCCCCCCHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!

I pumped out about 100 pushups this morning, all on my knees (but stretched out in plank so to speak), so don’t get too impressed….. AND, as we use those rubber resistance bands cos we rent our place and can’t install pull up bars, I did about 50 pull downs. It was a great session….Thursday is Shoulders and Arms, my favourite as I love working out my arms!

BRING IT! (Tony says that, not me!)…..

