Tags

,

So, I suppose you are all wondering how it went?

Prepped with half a black coffee consumed early, gatorade in my drink bottle, special socks, orthotics, a kick arse attitude and this 51 minute play list:

  • Rehab – Amy Winehouse
  • Just – Radiohead
  • Wisemen – James Blunt
  • My People – The Presets
  • Rockstar – N.E.R.D
  • Bangarang – Skrillex
  • Tick Tick Boom – The Hives
  • SuperMassive Black Hole – Muse
  • Snakeskin – Gyroscope
  • Dare – Gorillaz
  • Audacity Of Huge – Simian Mobile Disco
  • Dog Days Are Over Β – Florence and the Machine
  • The Way You Make Me Feel – Michael Jackson

I ran, 5km, in 44.30 minutes. I did not get to hear all of Florence or any of Michael cos I was finished πŸ™‚

I’m not ashamed to admit, I burst into tears when I was done. Husband, who met me at the end, got a very confused and concerned face on as I was blubbering. I managed to get out “Sorry, I’m just so happy, I did it” and then continued sobbing like a baby. Very embarrassing. Oh well, I told you I cry at the drop of a hat…… Also, I stayed bright tomato red for the same time afterwards that I ran. No photos of that shit, its not pretty….

Yeah, so hot right now.

When I started running, I took it slow to make sure I was properly warmed up. Then I started to pick up the pace. Now I know that 44.30 mins is not fast, but there were times when I felt like I was Usain. Momentarily…. The last bit was hard, but you know what kept me going, all your smiley faces and kind words, thanks peeps!!

I can’t tell you how happy and proud I am. This goal has been with me for ages. Even when I was younger and fitter, I used to wish I could run 5km. I never actually trained for it, so it’s not surprising I could never do it till now. Even when I first started training for this months ago I had my doubts.

I took time this morning to calm myself down, remember my goal and erase negative thoughts out of my mind. I had a bit of a “lets just see how this goes” mentality and off I went. I believed I could do it. I made it happen.

New goal, shave of some time πŸ™‚ I’m going to aim for 5km in 30 mins. I know what I need to do, hills and intervals. And I will smash this goal too! YAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAY!

Im heading off to get myself some new running kit, my current running pants are too loose and were falling down today.

Thanks again, kind interweb friends. Looking forward to sharing my new goal milestones.

