Tags

When I first started running earlier this year, the thought of running for longer than 1 minute at a time was a terrifying prospect. I have never been a runner. Even when I was a kid, I sucked at running. I came last in almost every running race that I was forced into at school carnivals. I was not really good at anything athletic, except for netball. Long jump, high jump (c’mon please, I am 5 foot 2 inches tall – high jump????), 100m, 200m, 800m, cross country, shot put, javelin, I tried em all, and I sucked…..

Now, I cannot claim to be a fast runner. Or even a good runner. I am a runner. Nothing fancy about it, I just run.

In the last few weeks, I feel like the jigsaw puzzle of my running life has formed a little more clearly. Not all the pieces are in place yet, but its coming together. Having a  slump in enthusiasm helped, running club is helping, so is starting on Couch to 10K this morning. Bit by bit, I feel like my running is forming into a habit that I hope will stay with me forever. It’s not getting easier, and sometimes I feel like I am not getting better at it. Sometimes it hurts, sometimes it doesn’t. Sometimes I feel like a gazelle, fluid and strong, other times I have to dig deep to find the strength to push on when I am feeling like I am hating every minute of it – it soon passes.

I do love it though. It’s part of my life now. It has reached into all the corners of what I do – I sleep better, I eat better, I hydrate myself more, I read all the blogs I can find about it, I plan my next run during the one I am running. I am holding on to my giant goal of running a marathon one day. Not next year, I have a few 10Ks planned, maybe the next. It’s then that I think the last piece of my puzzle will fall into place and I can admire my running jigsaw puzzle….

And then start a new one!

