Tags

, , , , ,

So we arrived at boot camp last night, after driving around looking for the place. The trainer seemed really nice which we were’t expecting from the tone of the emails we have been getting. It was freezing cold with a strong wind whipping our hair and making us shiver. He commented I looked scared (wtf?) and I replied there was no way on earth I was getting in the nearby water. It was a joke, although I don’t think he got it. Seriously.

Prior to it starting he emailed us a form to fill out that asked for your 5 Dreams in Life. I was tempted to write:

  • Buy a house
  • Get a dog
  • Have Christmas Lunch on Antarctica
  • Travel to space
  • Meet Sir David Attenborough.

I decided not to be cheeky and wrote:

  • Buy a house
  • Get a dog
  • Achieve and maintain a 65kg goal weight
  • Run a half marathon in 2013
  • Get an academic job.

I swear he though I was going to be lame, he kept looking at me as he explained we could pull out at any time, rest when we needed, walk the runs if needed, etc. Little did he know…..

So we got started. Ā A run to warm up then three sets of squats, lunges, push ups, dips and then a run. Followed by three sets of lunges, pushups, core pushups, more lunges and more running. The final bit was abs, plank and bicycles. It was relatively easy. My triceps are less than stellar so the dips sucked, but the rest was cool! I am a bit sore today in my quads and triceps but overall feel really good.

I really have to thank P90X for my ability to cope with the session last night. As much as running is making my legs stronger, P90X really got me used to working out my upper body and core a lot more than I ever have before. So thanks again to freaky Tony Horton. I think when this boot camp finishes I will drag out the P90X workouts again a few times a week to maintain any progress I make with boot camp…

I measured myself as well as weighing in to track my progress. At the end of 6 weeks, I’ll put it out there šŸ™‚

I slept in this morning so no early run. I’ll head out a bit later on today.

We have our personal training session tonight. I wonder how that is going to roll out???

