Tags

, , ,

Im having a Super Sunday! My ebay auction finished today, goodbye fat clothes! I made a decent amount of cash too 🙂 Happy days!

Image representing eBay as depicted in CrunchBase

Image via CrunchBase

The weather has been cold, windy and rainy on and off all day. All my attempts at heading out for a run this morning were thwarted, so I have given up. It’s almost lady time (sorry boys for oversharing) and I feel pretty bleurgh anyway. It is the kind of weather that if Husband was home, we would be curled up together watching a movie. Eating something warm and drinking hot chocolate….. Missing him……

Instead, I have spend all day applying for academic jobs. This is why it is SUPER SUNDAY!! There are a few in America and one in UK that I have applied for. These jobs are massively competitive so I am not anticipating packing my bags just yet, but you gotta be in it to win it! Who knows, I could be just the archaeologist some university department out there wants 🙂

Applying for all these jobs makes it really hit home that soon I will be done with my PhD. I desperately want it to be finished, I am sick to death of doing it, I want nothing more than to have spare time again, and not to be constantly thinking about it, worrying about it, talking about it, etc. But I am also a bit sad it’s finishing. Life will change after this, we might even move overseas. Our pretty laid back student life will come to an end and we will have to work!!! I know, everybody has to work, and don’t get me wrong, I work pretty much 7 days a week on this bad boy. It’s the 9-5 (or lets face it 7-7 that most academics work) that will be odd. I’m so used to working when I feel like it, early in the morning or late at night, taking breaks whenever I need one, popping out to the shops before the peak hour rush of kids getting out of school, etc. This is the part I will miss!

Oh well, time to grow up 🙂

The silver lining in getting the PhD done will be even more time to spend training. I stuck my excellent race calendar stuck to my wall, and I gotta tell ya, I am so shit scared that I will stuff it up, that getting a run in every other day will be mandatory! So yeah, lots of words and lots of running for me over the next few months as I wrap up my thesis.

Anyway, enough of me rambling, I have one more application to finish and then I might just pour myself a glass of Pinot Noir and settle in for the evening. Cheers and hope all your weekends came true!

