Tags

, ,

A few weeks ago, I registered for ParkRun and then did not go. This morning, I was ready. I got Husband to come with me although he did not run. I just wanted him there at the finish line. I set my alarm for 5.45, was out the door at 6.30 and ready to run by 7am.

parkrun logo

parkrun logo (Source Wikipedia)

ParkRun is rad! It is really well organised, the path was lovely, the people were friendly and the pace was FAST!! I have not gotten my official results yet but I think it was about 39 mins, which if it is right, means I shaved some serious time off my run from Thursday – 42.48mins. I will post my result when it becomes available. I had looked at last weeks results and the slowest time was 38 mins. I really did not want to come last so I pushed as hard as I could…..And I didn’t come last! There were at least half a dozen people after me! So freaking happy!

Today is really humid and hot, there is a huge storm coming our way now, so the run this morning was a bit tough. I felt like I was sucking air though a wet towel most of the time. I did have to walk a tiny bit, but I was still faster than I ever have been. Most of the run, I was chasing a lady who was walking a bit, but her run sections were quite fast. She came in ahead of me, but only just! It was super motivating to be in a non competitive race. I think I will include it into my weekly run schedule.

So this week, I clocked 13km. One strength workout and I need need need to do yoga tomorrow to stretch out my hip flexor which feels like a tight rubber band. My goal for next week is 20km. I’M BACK!

